The Lindsay Golf and Country Club has been the local golf club since 1909.
Around 1880, William Meager and spouse Mary Maloney of Ireland homesteaded this property, replacing a log house with a brick home that is now part of the Clubhouse. Catherine, one of the 8 children, married Daniel Murphy and together they inherited the property and farmed what became known locally as the “Murphy Farm” up until 1968, at which time their son retired and sold the farm.
With a desire to add a second nine holes, the Lindsay Golf and Country Club sold the original golf course on Kent Street West near Canadian Tire and purchased the farm in 2000. Construction began shortly thereafter and the18 hole championship course opened in 2003 offering food and beverage service from under a huge marquee tent. The new banquet hall was added the following year.
Bringing together the past and present, The Club selected Murphy’s Grille as the new name for its food and beverage operation. The two sections of the banquet hall are Murphy’s Grille North and South. The dining room/parlour of the old farmhouse has been converted to a lounge and aptly named Murphy’s Den. The Club now boasts a variety of dining experiences from banquets of up to 160 to intimate casual dining for two.
Lindsay Golf and Country Club is recognized as one of the finest championship courses in the Kawarthas. The architect, Graham Cooke, designed the new 18 hole layout that seamlessly blends parkland holes with traditional links. The golf course features rolling fairways and small, fast greens that demand accuracy. There are several sand traps strategically placed around the greens and water comes into play on half of the holes in the form of small and large ponds. Five sets of tees allow golfers of all skill levels to enjoy the course; you will never tire of the challenge.
Graham Cooke, “Welcome to Lindsay Golf and Country Club”.